Aroha String Quartet (2010)

• Sunday 3rd October 2010, 2.00pm Past
• Tauranga Park Auditorium, 383 Pyes Pa Rd, Tauranga map »
Haihong Liu (violin), Beiyi Xue (violin), Zhongxian Jin (viola), Robert Ibell (cello)
Founded in 2004 by four Chinese professional musicians in their newly adopted country, this versatile ensemble is known for their passionate musicality, impressive technique, and multicultural innovations. Founding members Haihong Liu and Beiyi Xue (violins) and Zhongxian Jin (viola) were joined by well-known New Zealand cellist Robert Ibell in early 2009. Alongside their busy schedule with respective orchestral and teaching duties, Aroha is highly committed to presenting string quartet works from traditional Chinese folk music to western classical and avant-garde contemporary repertoire.

The programme consists of works by Beethoven, Tchaikovsky and NZ composer Gillian Whitehead.

View Programme Notes

« Jenny Wollerman & Richard Mapp
Previous concert